For assistance with a Vehicle Registration Gap Property Tax notice, please visit Gap Billing
Starting in mid-2013, your vehicle registration renewal fees and
vehicle property tax will be due at the same time.
You'll receive one bill in the mail about 60 days before your
vehicle registration expires.
Pay it all together with one simple online payment at
www.ncdot.gov/dmv, by mail, or in person.
The Tag & Tax System makes it easier to manage your vehicle registration and taxes. One Payment - made either in person, online, or by mail...
Completes the annual tag and tax payments for your vehicle. Now, your annual vehicle inspection, registration renewal and property tax are all due the same month each year.
Learn more about North Carolina’s new Tag & Tax System by reading the FAQs.
The North Carolina General Assembly passed a new law to create a combined motor vehicle registration renewal and property tax collection system (Tag & Tax System). In doing so, the new law transfers the responsibility for motor vehicle tax collection from the 100 counties across North Carolina to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
North Carolina’s new Tag & Tax System has been designed as a convenient way to pay annual vehicle tag renewals and vehicle property taxes.
If your address is current with the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles, you will receive a Tag & Tax Notice listing both vehicle registration fees and taxes due. Just as in the past, vehicle owners will receive the notice about 60 days prior to their vehicle’s registration expiration.
MyDMV Portal Link & Instructions:
If you have misplaced your Registration Card with the paid vehicle tax information on the right side, below is the link to access the MyDMV Portal for your paid vehicle taxes.
Taxpayers will need their NC Driver’s License or NC Identification Card Number. Along with the Last 4 Digits of their Social Security Number. I-94 (Arrival/ Departure Us Customs Form) or Alien Registration Number, plus their birthdate.
Once logged in, the Taxpayer will see “Correspondence” on the right middle third of the window. Under “Correspondence” the Taxpayer will be able to select the year for Vehicle Property Tax Fee paid or as pictured VEH PROP TAX FEE. Select the year desired and all vehicles paid for that year will pop up with the total taxes paid for each vehicle in that calendar year.
Businesses will not be able to access tax information through the MyDMV Portal and will need to refer to the information on the Registration Cards or contact our office at (919) 560-0300.