As we continue to focus on keeping all citizens and Durham County Government staff safe and prevent the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) in Durham, Durham County Government has closed most offices to the public effective Monday, March 23, 2020. To read the detailed release about the closing, visit our news section at or click here.


Wendy Jacobs, Chair

200 East Main Street
2nd Floor, Old Courthouse
Durham, NC 27701
Phone: 919-560-0026
FAX: 919-560-0013
Hours: 8:00 AM-5:00 PM

Board Function 

The Durham County Board of Commissioners is the governing body of Durham County. Each of the five commissioners is elected by the people of Durham for a four-year term to enhance the livability of the community and provide more efficient and effective county services. The Board of Commissioners invests in our community and our citizens by the successful implementation of the Capital Improvement Plan. The Commissioners strive to help our citizen prepare for jobs of the future by working with the school system, the business community, Durham Technical Community College and other related agencies.

The primary duties of the board include formulating policy, adopting an annual budget, establishing the annual property tax rate, appointing various officials, planning for county needs and enacting local ordinances. The Board has the authority to call bond referendums, authorize the county manager to enter into contracts and establish new programs and departments.