To Report child Abuse dial 919-560-8424 Monday – Friday, 7:30am – 5:30pm
911 After Hours, Weekends and Holidays
For additional information see below.
Child Protective Services (CPS) Investigative Assessments
CPS is legally mandated to conduct assessments of reports of suspected abuse and neglect as defined in Chapter 7B of the North Carolina General Statutes: http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/ByChapter/Chapter_7B.html
- Gather Information by interviewing children, all adults in the household & collaterals within 45 days
- Provide services to assure safety and well-Being of children
Receives reports of alleged abuse, neglect and dependency. Reports are screened using the NC Department of Social Services Structured Intake Tool
Types of Reports
- Investigative with response time of 24 hours
- Physical Abuse
- Sexual Abuse
- Serious Neglect
- Family Assessment with response time of 72 hours
Who Should Report?
North Carolina’s report law requires “any person or institution who has a cause to suspect that any juvenile is abuse, neglected or dependent, as defined in NCGS 7B-101 http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html, or has died as a result of maltreatment” to make a report to the County Department of Social Services.
How to Make a Report?
- Call the report line at 919-560-8424, M – F 7:30am – 5:30pm
- Call 911 After Hours, weekends & holidays and ask for the on-call Social Worker
- Visit the office at 414 E. Main St., 3rd Floor, M – F 7;30am – 5:30pm
To learn more about CPS Intake and Assessments please click on the Link below.
Elizabeth Ann Granby