Mail the completed form to the county board
of elections in the county “where you live”.
If you do not have a driver’s license, you will
be asked to include part of your Social
Security number. You may find your county
board of elections by contacting the State
Board of Elections. Their contact information
is on the back of this brochure. The
completed form must include your physical
street address so that you can be listed in the
proper voting district. If you use a P.O. Box
as your street address, the form will not be
processed. (However, a P.O. Box may be
used as your mailing address.)

The county board of elections must receive
your completed form at least 25 days before
the election if you wish to vote in that
election. Otherwise, you can register at any
time to vote in future elections. Voter
registration is permanent and you do not
need to register for each election.

The county board of elections will send a
card to the address you listed on the form,
with the name of your precinct and where
you can go to vote (your “polling place”).

STEP 2: VOTE

You can vote at the polling place listed on
your voter card, a One-Stop polling site, or by
absentee ballot.

For directions on how to vote by absentee
ballot or at a One-Stop voting location, see
Step 2 on the inside of the brochure.

REMEMBER, IF YOU MOVE WITHIN THE

For additional information on voter registration,
absentee ballots, or locating your county board
of elections, contact:

State Board of Elections
P.O. Box 27255
Raleigh, NC 27611-7255
Telephone: (919) 733-7173
Website: www.sboe.state.nc.us
Or call toll free:
1-888-OUR-VOTE

If you have ever been a misdemeanant or felon
and you are not sure of your voting rights or
have received conflicting information from
government officials about your voting rights,
please contact the ACLU of North Carolina.
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STEPS FOR MISDEMEANANTS AND
PERSONS AWAITING TRIAL

In North Carolina, being convicted of a misde-
meanor does not mean that you lose your right to
vote. You can vote while serving your misde-
meanor sentence or while awaiting trial for a
felony or misdemeanor. Follow the steps below
so that you can vote in the next election.

STEP 1: REGISTER TO VOTE

If you are not already registered to vote, you
can register to vote by using a mail-in voter
registration form. You can get a form from
your county board of elections office, public
library, or online at www.sboe.state.nc.us.

On the form, it asks “where you now live.”
Use the address of the place where you
would live if you were not in jail. This
address is the place where you intend to
return after imprisonment.

Mail the completed form to the county board
of elections in the county “where you live”.
If you do not have a driver’s license, you will
be asked to include part of your Social
Security number. You may find your county
board of elections by contacting the State
Board of Elections. Contact information is on
the back of this brochure. The completed
form must include your physical street
address so that you can be listed in the
proper voting district. If you write a P.O.
Box as your street address, the form will not
be processed. However, a P.O. Box may be
used as your mailing address.

The county board of elections must receive
your completed form at least 25 days before
the election if you wish to vote in that
election. Otherwise, you can register at any
time to vote in future elections. Voter
registration is permanent and you do not
need to register for each election.

The county board of elections will send a card to
the address you listed on the form, with the name
of your precinct and where you can go to vote
(your “polling place”).

STEP 2: VOTE

If you are able, you can vote in person at your
polling place on Election Day or at One-Stop
voting (see below). You may also vote using
an Absentee Ballot. If you are going to be
incarcerated on Election Day, you can vote by
mail using an absentee ballot.

To request an absentee ballot, you may send
a signed written request to your county board
of elections after you register to vote.
absentee ballots are made available 50 days
before the election until 5:00 p.m. on the
Tuesday a week before an election.

You can register to vote and request an
absentee ballot at the same time. Be sure
that your request is mailed early enough to
receive, complete, and mail your registration
form to your county board of elections to
meet the registration deadline (no later than
25 days before elections).

If the county board of elections determines
that you are eligible to vote, they will mail the
registration form and absentee ballot to you.
You may be asked to send a document show-
ing your name and address. You may request
that the ballot be mailed to any address
including the jail where you are incarcerated.
The ballot can also be mailed to a friend or
relative and that person can bring the ballot to
you. However, only you may vote the ballot.
Please follow the instructions on the absentee
ballot. For example, the absentee ballot must
be witnessed by two persons; if not, the
ballot will not be counted.

For 17 days starting the 3rd Thursday before
each election until the Saturday before each
election at 1:00 p.m., voters are allowed to
vote by One-Stop absentee ballot in person at
their county board of elections during regular
business hours (usually 8:00 a.m. - 5:00
p.m. Monday through Friday). Some
counties might offer other One-Stop voting
sites that allow you to vote at additional
locations and times. Check with your local
county board of elections for your One-Stop
voting options.

STEPS FOR FORMER FELONS

If you are convicted of a felony in North Carolina,
you temporarily lose your citizenship rights,
including your right to vote. Any prior registra-
tion you had before your felony conviction is
cancelled by the county board of elections with
no action on your part. Any attempt to register
to vote while you are an active felon is a felony.
However, after completing all the terms of your
sentence (including parole, probation, and
restitution), you do not have to do anything to
have your citizenship rights restored. Those
rights are automatically restored (N.C. Gen. Stat.
13-1). Registering to vote, again or for the first
time, is all you will need to do before voting in
the county where you reside after your discharge.

If you have completed all parts of your sentence
for a felony conviction or have been pardoned,
you are eligible to vote in North Carolina. To
avoid potential difficulties with registering and
voting, you should ask for your Certificate of
Restoration of Forfeited Rights of Citizenship from
your releasing officer (N.C. Gen. Stat. 13-2).
This is not necessary to register or vote, but may
make it easier should you encounter any
problems.

In order to vote in North Carolina elections, follow
the steps listed below:

STEP 1: REGISTER TO VOTE

Former convicted felons must register again
to vote in your current county of residence.

You can register by mail using a mail-in voter
registration form. You can receive this form
by writing or calling your county board of
elections office, visiting a public library, or
downloading a form online at
www.sboe.state.nc.us.




